There was an error in this gadget

Friday, December 23, 2011

Happy Holidays!

Due to the holiday weekend, I will be off until next week Tuesday. Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy your winter breaks! Here's hoping we get SOME snow this winter:



Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

The final installment of the Eragon series has finally arrived. Eragon was first released in 2003, with the fourth and final book, Inheritance, released this past November. I have finally gotten around to reading this book this past week. I am about halfway through and hooked. All seems lost for Saphira and Eragon - I can't wait to see where it leads. It always amazes me how authors can create entire worlds, languages and intricate histories for their books. This appears to be a long book, but you will quickly become wrapped up in the story.

Summary:

It began with Eragon... It ends with Inheritance.

Not so very long ago, Eragon—Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider—was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.

The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaƫsia? And if so, at what cost?

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Dr. Horrible's Sing-along Blog

During 2007-2008, a writer's strike prevented production of new movies and television shows. During this time, many actors found themselves with a lot of extra time. A couple of them including Neil Patrick Harris got together to create this hilarious, phenomenal short film! It's about 30 minutes long, and I have watched it multiple times! The library has recently purchased a copy. Check it out, watch it and watch it again! I guarantee you will not regret it!


Summary:  

Neil Patrick Harris stars as Billy, A.K.A. Dr. Horrible, a budding super-villain whose plans for world domination continually go awry. His two goals: getting accepted into the Evil League of Evil, and working up the guts to speak to his laundromat crush Penny, played by Felicia Day. The only thing standing in his way is Captain Hammer, Billy's superhero arch-nemesis played by Nathan Fillion. With one big score, Billy could get into the E.L.E. and earn the respect of Penny, but only if he can keep her away from the dashing Captain Hammer...

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Christmas Lights!!!

I love everything Christmas-related so you'll have to bear with me over the next two weeks! I was sent this in an email from a friend. One thing I really enjoy doing during December is taking a drive to see the Christmas lights on the houses. Although I did not drive all the way to Ohio to see these lights, I think you will enjoy them nonetheless:

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Movie Review - The Prestige

This movie was recommended to me by a friend. Surprisingly, I have not seen this movie before. It was very intriguing. Similar to The Illusionist, it was enthralling and I kept guessing unti lthe end of the movie. It also has a lot of big name actors in the movie: Hugh Jackman, Piper Perabo, Christian Bale, Scarlett Johansson, and Michael Caine. This is an excellent movie - check it out!

Summary: 

Set against the backdrop of turn-of-the-century London. Two magicians share an intense rivalry with each other and leads them on a life-long battle for supremacy. The rivalry is so intense that is will be full of obsession, deceit and jealousy, with both dangerous and deadly consequences. From the time that Robert Angier and Alfred Bordon first met, the two were competitors. However, their once friendly competition evolves into battle for each others trade secrets.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Movie Premiere - The Help!


Showing Tonight @ Manitowoc Public Library: The Help

Balkansky Community Room
5:00 PM
Popcorn and Soda!




In 1960s Mississippi, Skeeter, a southern society girl, returns from college determined to become a writer, but turns her friends' lives, and a small Mississippi town, upside down when she decides to interview the black women who have spent their lives taking care of prominent southern families. Aibileen, Skeeter's best friend's housekeeper, is the first to open up, to the dismay of her friends in the tight-knit black community. 


This movie is based on the bestselling book by Kathryn Stockett - The book was excellent and I'm very excited to see the movie tonight!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

The new City of Manitowoc budget calls for $250,000 in cuts, nearly $100,000 more than the 10% reduction proposed by Mayor Nickels. Library management has been working on ways to make the initial $166,553 reduction while maintaining service. The additional cuts make that impossible. 
These cuts could mean a reduction in teen library services which means plans for a new teen space could end, and negative effects of summer reading program, teen programs, teen book collection, and battle of the books. If you wish to help, please attend the meeting TOMORROW - Thursday, December 8, at 5 p.m. in the City Council Chambers to show your support for the teen services provided by Manitowoc Public Library.
Directions -- City Hall - (by the river) When you enter City Hall from main entrance, take a right to get to the Council Chambers.
Please come to show your support and pass along the word!

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Sarah's Key

MovieGripping story - emotional performance! Tatiana de Rosnay wrote Sarah's Key. It is a moving story of a journalist who uncovers secrets related to World War II and her family.

Summary:

bookA decades-old mystery unsolved. A courageous life unknown. A family's secrets untold - until now. Julia Jarmond is an American journalist living in Paris with her French husband Betrand, assigned to cover the anniversary of France's notorious 1942 Vel' d'Hive Roundup of Jews in World War II. She's stunned to discover that Betrand's family apartment was the scene of an unspeakable incident committed during the war; his family has been concealing a disturbing secret; and a young French girl Sarah holds the key to unlock the devestating truth.

The book was phenomenal and the movie which was just released on DVD was excellent. I was gripped from the moment it began. Click on the book or movie to place a hold for your copy.

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Mini Golf @ Manitowoc Public Library!

 
9 holes throughout the library!

Saturday, December 10th
5:00 - 7:00 PM
Balkansky Community Room

Pizza, soda, snacks, prizes, games and mini golf! Make sure you enter the building before closing time at 5:00 PM!



Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Hunger Games the Movie!

I thought I had posted this earlier, but I guess I didn't...oops! For those of you who haven't read The Hunger Games yet, now is a good time. The first movie is set to be released March 23, 2012 with the sequel to follow in November 2013!

Here is The Hunger Games Official Movie Trailer! I'm usually not excited for movies based on books since they tend to mess it up, but I am optimistically looking forward to this one~

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Happy 'stay home because you are well' day!


That's Right! Today is National Stay Home Because You Are Well Day! This is a day I fully support! It's a day to celebrate being healthy and alive. I love some of the national holidays we have! If you are interested in other holidays (which there are tons:)) check out Chase's Calendar of Events which can be found in the Manitowoc Public Library.

And before you ask, no I did not stay home today :). I was a trooper and showed up for work!

Friday, November 25, 2011

Do you know how to QR CODE?

QR codes are taking over the U.S. What originated in Japan is now trickling into the United States' market. You will find these codes on buses, buildings, magazines, posters, books, pretty much anything and everything! As the first picture says above, you can scan these codes to take you to more information about the event or to exclusive information about the item. These codes will also take you to deals from businesses. QR codes are virtually limitless in how they can be used. With your smartphone, download the FREE QR code reader and start scanning! All posters and information from the Manitowoc Public Library will now include QR codes exclusively for teenagers. Check 'em out!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Lakeshore Holiday Parade

I am not a huge parade fan, but one of my great joys is the Macy's Day Parade and Manitowoc's Lakeshore Holiday Parade. No holiday season is complete without these two and for the first time I will be able to relax and watch the ENTIRE Macy's Day Parade without worrying about helping to make Thanksgiving dinner!!! I also can attend the Holiday Parade tomorrow!!

Even if it is considered enormously embarrassing, I love this parade and wouldn't miss it given the chance. Join us in the cold to watch it tomorrow at 6:30 PM or tune into to Comcast channel 20 to watch from the warmth of your home :)


Sunday, November 20, 2011

1st Manga Read!!


Yes, I am very excited about the very first Manga that I have ever read. For a while I have been reading graphic novels, but up until now I had not dived into Manga.


James Patterson and NaRae Lee work together to create the Maximum Ride series in a Manga version. I was very impressed by this novel and already read the second one and starting on the third.



I love how quick, easy and interactive reading Manga and graphic novels are. NaRae Lee and James Patterson do an excellent job of converting this popular book series into the Manga format. Definitely check it out if you haven't already!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Flashmob at the Library!

Since I seem to be on a library movie kick, here is another short video I found about a flashmob at the Seattle Library. It gives a whole new meaning to "fun with books" - Enjoy!



Unfortunately, it does take awhile for the video to load...be patient... :)

This video also means I need to post my favorite flashmob dance to Black Eyed Peas - you got it...the Oprah one...here it is once again in all its fabulous glory! :)

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Hilarious! Studying with New Spice!



The Manitowoc Public Library is your free source to any and all resources needed to assist you in your homework and studies!

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Poetry created using the spine of books!


Scavenge the library for books - Piece them together - Create a masterpiece!

There will be prizes voted on by peers for most creative, cheesiest, shortest and longest!

Spine Poetry
Tuesday @ 5:00 PM

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Thanksgiving 2011

Since my family is a little odd to begin with, we are celebrating Thanksgiving early this year...as in today! So to commemorate the oddity of today, I am sharing some Thanksgiving humor I have found - Enjoy!




Friday, November 11, 2011

Teen Program - SPINE POETRY

Scavenge the library for books - Piece them together - Create a masterpiece!

There will be prizes voted on by peers for most creative, cheesiest, shortest and longest!

Spine Poetry
Tuesday, November 15th @ 5:00 PM

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Teen Game Night!


Teen Game Night with Atomic Games!!
Thursday, November 10th
4:00-6:30 PM



Relax with friends as we play games and enjoy snacks!

Saturday, November 5, 2011

The Book of Lists for Teens


This is one of those books I stumbled across and picked up with mild interest.

I paged through it and then I read through it because it was fabulous.It was hilarious! Lots of things you didn't know you wanted to know!

Here's an example on page 203:

10 stupid things to ask a videoshop assistant:

1. "What kind of movies do you have?"
2. "Just how long is 'The Never Ending Story'?"
3. "I kept the original tape. Is it OK if I just return a copy?"
4. "Can you help me? I'm looking for something I haven't seen?"
5. "Do you have a machine to erase subtitles?"
6. "Can I watch this here?"
7. "Do you have a version of Titanic with a happy ending?"
8. "Can you help me to stop my VCR from blinking twelve o'clock all the time?"
9. "Do you have anything funny?"
10. "Do you have (insert title currently playing at the movie theater)?"


Other Lists -
-Mistakes in 12 of your favorite flicks
-22 scariest movies of all time
-40 things that Bart Simpson has written on the blackboard at the beginning of The Simpsons
AND MANY, MANY MORE!!!

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Mara Dyer doesn't think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.

She's wrong.
~

If you only have time to read one book this year. Make sure this is the one you choose. It is captivating!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Find the Right College for You!

Whether you are an emerging sophmore, tenative junior, or desperate senior, it is never too late to begin thinking about college!


Attend our free presentation on finding the right college for you: academically, financially and socially! Nicole Martinez will give tips on searching for colleges, specific questions to ask and characteristics to search for.


Tuesday, November 1st @ 5:00 PM

Finding the Right College for You

Balkansky Community Room



Saturday, October 29, 2011

Manitowoc County Haunted Houses

Most haunted houses are closing this week! If you haven't already, follow this link to the haunted houses in Manitowoc County.

I have personally been to The Crypt and Spatterhaus. We decided to watch scary movies before we went to the haunted houses. Excellent idea: it freaked me out! My favorite haunted house every year since I have found it has been The Crypt! I haven't found a better haunted house yet. I have also been told 13th Nightmare is awesome this year!

What are your favorite ones?

Friday, October 28, 2011

Creepy Halloween Stories!

Owners of Android or iPhone devices --> Have you heard of the new 3:15 app?

The app is free to download and comes with a limited selection of stories. Each additional episode is $0.99 each.

The stories are creepy and terrifying without being over-the-top gory or gruesome! Check it out!

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Halloween Feature - Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow

Read-a-like to Paranormalcy by Kiersten White! Just as quirky a main character with supernatural humor and fun!

Summary:

Beatrice Alexander is no ordinary schoolteacher—she can move objects with her mind, an embarrassing skill she hasn’t yet mastered or embraced. After nearly killing her brother by accident, she joins the F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad, the Federal Response to Extra-Sensory and Kindred Supernaturals. This top-secret branch of the FBI combats ghosts, ghouls, and other monsters threatening humanity.

With her teammates—among them a handsome former-detective werewolf and an annoying Don Juan vampire who’s dead-set on seducing her—Beatrice investigates her first case. Disgustingly dismembered bodies have turned up, bearing bite marks of the undead. Someone—or something—is raising a horde of hideous, bloodthirsty zombies. Armed with Bette, her trusty machete, Beatrice takes on the master of the flesh-devouring corpses, who’s guarding a horrifying secret . . .

Featuring a team of monster hunters with unique paranormal abilities, the F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad Investigation series combines humor, suspense, and supernatural crime-fighting.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Penguins with Sweaters!!

Unfortunately, when the Liberian-flagged Rena crashed, October 5th, on New Zealand’s North Island, gallons of oil and hazardous materials spilled into the waters, washing up on the pristine beaches and creating an environmental disaster.

In the weeks since, nearly 1,300 birds have died as a result of the spill. But some crafty bird lovers jumped at the chance to help – knitting sweaters for penguins.

Watch the clip below:

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Child's Reaction to Angry Birds!

There are some universally common things most everyone loves to watch: baby animals, adults getting hurt over the course of an ill-advised decision and of course, the all-time favorite, babies or young children. Check out this kid's reaction to Angry Birds!

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Yay Technology!


Fun tool I have stumbled across: VOKIs! I have created a Voki to do a booktalk on Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi! Check it out!

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Illusionist Glen Gerard!

Don't miss his performance at MPL!

Tuesday, October 18th
Balkansky Community Room
5:00 PM




Check out these other videos: Comedy Quarter & Fox 11!

Thursday, October 13, 2011

It's a Book!

I saw this posted on the adult blog, and I loved it! So I am posting it here for your enjoyment as well:

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Glen Gerard - Illusionist Extraordinaire!

Humor and illusion combined - Magician Glen Gerard joins us for a Halloween performance at the Manitowoc Public Library!

Tuesday, October 18th
Balkansky Community Room
5:00 PM

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Featured DVD - Soul Surfer

I watched this movie a few weeks ago and was very impressed. I even cried through a portion of it - it was very touching. Altough I was disappointed in the acting of Carrie Underwood, the main actress, AnnaSophia Robb, was excellent in her role as the shark victim, Bethany Hamilton. Helen Hunt and Dennis Quaid also join her in this excellent film. Bethany Hamilton also appears in the extra features. If you haven't watched this yet, take the time to check out this excellent movie!

Summary:

Based on a true story

A teenage surfer girl summons the courage to go back into the ocean to realize her surfing dreams after losing an arm in a shark attack.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Money 411 - Tuesday, October 11th


Money 411 with Nicole Martinez
Great Lakes Higher Education
Tuesday, October 11th
5:00 PM


Find out how to be financially prepared now (new car, shopping spree, credit card, checking account) and for the future (college, backpacking Europe, buying a yacht...)!! Nicole Martinez will share some foolproof financial tips.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

National Storytelling Day!

Today is National Storytelling Day - one that is anxiously awaited and celebrated throughout the nation! (yeah...not really :)) BUT it is a national day set aside specifically for storytelling! For that reason, I am using this blog post to share a short story - Enjoy!

Fire-fighters' Halloween Story

Notice:
County Community Burn Ordinances Pertaining to recreational fires and burning of yard and household waste.

All outdoor burning is prohibited in the City except for those parcels described in ordinance. Recreational fires are allowed, but not during the hours of 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

At 8.00pm on October 31st two fire-fighters could see a fire raging in the back yard. It was clearly in breach of the rule on burning leaves after dark. One of the fireman knocked on the door, and they both waited each holding their helmet in their hand. The little old woman opened the door and promptly dropping a bar of candy into each helmet. She then told them, 'Aren't you boys are a little old for trick and treat, and closed the door'. The fire-fighters left open mouthed.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Glen Gerard - TUESDAY, OCTOBER 18TH



Come find out why Glen Gerard is recognized as the top Midwest Magician and Illusionist by FOX Television Network!

Tuesday, October 18th
Balkansky Community Room
5:00 PM

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Featured Book ~ Entwined by Heather Dixon


The picture on the front cover is what enthralled me first. I'm a sucker for a pretty dress as well as stories based on fairy tales! Entwined is based on the Brothers Grimm fairy tale of the 12 dancing princesses - one of their less known fables.

Summary:

In the half-magical world of Eathesbury, Azalea is the oldest of 12 daughters and heir to her father's throne. When the sisters' mother dies after a long illness, the siblings find a hidden passageway to an enchanted pavilion under the castle where they can dance all night, secretly breaking the rules of mourning. The mysterious and alluring Keeper makes this possible, but he also seems to have less-than-honorable plans for the girls, especially Azalea. The tale's atmosphere becomes increasingly dark and brooding as the truth from ages past comes out, and Azalea realizes just what evil they are pitted against.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Writing Contest - Profile in Courage!

Deadline for Submission is January 7, 2012!


John F. Kennedy described eight U.S. elected officials who demonstrated political courage ~ Here's YOUR chance to write a new profile in courage. Winner receives $10,000! Second-place winner receives $1,000 with up to five finalists receiving $500 each.

Task:

Write an original and creative essay of 1,000 words or less that demonstrates an understanding of political courage as described by John F. Kennedy in Profiles in Courage. Describe and analyze an act of political courage by a U.S. elected offical who served during or after 1956. the essay may focus on an issue at the local, state, national or interanationl level.

The contest is sponsored by The John F. Kennedy Library Foundation for students in grades nine through twelve. Find out more information about this event at the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation website. Make sure to read all guidelines before submitting your essay.


GOOD LUCK!!!!Caroline Kennedy honors Kevin Kay, winner of the 2011 Profile in Courage Essay Contest. (Photo by Tom Fitzsimmons)

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Collegeland Adventure!





Are you looking at colleges and preparing for college? Are you a little confused about all the choices and options? Join us on Tuesday, September 27th at 5:00 PM in the Balkansky Community Room as we help to take the mystery out of preparing for college.


Nicole Martinez from Great Lakes Higher Education will be joining us to help you prepare for your Collegeland Adventure!

Monday, September 19, 2011

Featured Book ~ Page by Paige

A new graphic novel which was astounding! I fell in love with the phenomenal drawings throughout the book. The story follows a familar plot line: quiet girl moves to big city, meets new friends and emerges from her shell. The drawings really add to this story.

Her parents, which are writers, even name her Paige Turner...

Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge:

Paige Turner has just moved to New York with her family, and she's having some trouble adjusting to the big city. In the pages of her sketchbook, she tries to make sense of her new life, including trying out her secret identity: artist. As she makes friends and starts to explore the city, she slowly brings her secret identity out into the open, a process that is equal parts terrifying and rewarding

Thursday, September 15, 2011

1st e-book signing!

Okay, so I may be a little behind (May 2nd - I know! super old! but still cool!). Give me a break, I just stumbled across this information this afternoon. :)

Sarah Boynton, author of The Going to Bed Book, is the first author to sign an e-book. 8 year old Alex, in the picture, is the first person in the world to receive a signed e-book! Hosted in New York by Barnes & Noble on Monday, May 2nd, Sarah Boynton read her book, The Going to Bed Book, and had a book signing.

Some, like Alex, had an e-book for Ms. Boynton signed, but the majority still brought a hard board book up for her to sign!

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Rock, Paper, Scissors Evolution Tournament!

Join us today in Balkansky Room for a silly game of rock, paper, scissors at 5:00 pm. Start as an egg and work your way up to an Ultimate Human! Snacks and refreshments will be provided.

Monday, September 12, 2011

Golden Book Gown by Ryan Novelline!


I stumbled across a picture of this in one of the magazines I was reading and had to share. How many of you remember the Little Golden Books? They started in 1942 and revolutionized children's literature because it made good youth books available at a reasonable price. I grew up reading a lot of Little Golden Books including The Poky Little Puppy, Bambi, Little Black Sambo, etc. Little Golden Books are easily recognizable as the books with the gold spine.

Artist/Designer Ryan Novelline collected over 300 Golden Books from Goodwill and used bookshops in order to create the dress in the pictures. After removing the pages, about 1,500 in total, he sorted them by color and sewed them together using golden thread. The familiar gold spines of the Little Golden Books were used to form the bodice.

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Sputnik Fest 2011


I know this is a late post, but I recently found out that Sputnik Fest is today in Manitowoc. Although I have intended to go for the past two years, I have always ended up working on this day. Check it out if you have nothing to do today ~ They have the Miss Space Debris contest, cake contest, dog contest, costume creation contest, etc.

Friday, September 9, 2011

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray


Here is the story of a plane of beauty pageant contestants that crashes on a desert island.

Teen beauty queens. A Lost-like island. Mysteries and dangers. No access to emall. And the spirit of fierce, feral competition that lives underground in girls, a savage brutality that can only be revealed by a journey into the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Oh, the horror, the horror! Only funnier. With evening gowns. And a body count.

Check it out today!